Skip to content ↓

Local Academy Board

As of 1 December 2015, The Howard School moved from a single convertor Academy to become the lead school within The Howard Academy Trust.

The Local Academy Board of The Howard School:

  • Mr Jasbinder Johal (Head of School)
  • Mrs J Matthews (Trust Appointed Chair of Governors) - contactable via the School Office
  • Ms T Marchant (Trust Appointed Vice-Chair of Governors)
  • Zeldine Morris (Staff)
  • Zahid Hussain (Trust Appointed)

Terms of Reference for the Local Academy Board can be found here.

Contact details:
Post: Chair of Governors, The Howard School, Derwent Way, Rainham, Gillingham ME8 0BX
Telephone: The School Office on 01634 388765

A copy of minutes, with the exception of confidential items, will be available by emailing office@thehowardschool.co.uk.

For details of the Members and Directors of The Howard Academy Trust, please click here.

Diversity Indicators

A link to our 2023-2024 THAT Governance Diversity Indicators can be found here.


Name Relevant Business & Pecuniary Interests
(including governance roles in other education institutions)
Attendance record at meetings for the academic year ('22-'23)
Jasbinder Johal (Head of School)
Appointed: Ongoing
None declared 4 of 4
Tracy Marchant (Trust Appointed)
Appointed: 28/06/22
Employment: Quality Manager 1 of 3
Joanna Matthews (Parent)
Appointed: 22/02/21
Midwife: Medway NHS Foundation Trust
Membership - NMC
4 of 4
Zeldine Morris (Staff)
Appointed: 19/01/23
None declared 2 of 2
Zahid Hussain (Trust Appointed)
Appointed: 01/09/23
Employment: The Chemistry Group
School Governor: Wilmington Academy (Leigh Academy Trust)
Owen McColgan
(Accounting Officer/CEO THAT)
Medway Academy of Performing Arts
(Partner from 03/01/2020)
Inspiring Change MAT
(Member from 12/12/2018)
Featherby Infants & Junior School
(Governor from 08/09/2020)
Ofsted Inspector
Past Governors

Simon Fudge (Parent)
Appointed: 07/06/22
Resigned: 03/07/23

Business - K9 Crew Events Ltd
Membership - InstRE
1 of 3
Michael Page (Trust Appointed)
Appointed: 16/11/22
Resigned: 03/07/23
None declared 0 of 2
Claire Snook (Staff)
Appointed: 10/01/20
Term of Office not renewed
None declared 0 of 4
Ellie Quare (Trust Appointed)
Appointed: 04/04/22
Rivermead School: Deputy Headteacher 2 of 4

Last Updated: 30th January 2024